Drinkers Of The Found Christ

I am on a roll for some reason when it comes to looking back on some of my favorite movies as a kid.  As referenced in the previous post, Indiana Jones is by far one of my most favoritest movies from my childhood and as I look back, I realize that it has influenced me in my life in a major way.  Dr. Jones had me wanting to be a professor (still working on that) to be an archaeologist (I’m not but it would be rad if I was), have a library or office full of books (still working on that) and wear a cool hat, jacket and pack a whip.  I did become a history major and love looking at old places where old events happened (kinda close right?)  I often found it very interesting that there seemed to be a very heavy Biblical theme present in almost every Indiana Jones film….except Temple of Doom…that one was all for the fun of the freak out fest of eating snakes and rippin folks hearts out of their chest and don’t lie to me…you thought it was awesome…

I’ll be honest…if I ever happen to have the chance to eat chilled monkey brains (is it even legal?) I am so down for doing just that…the selfie opportunity alone could not be passed up on and would be my Twitter profile pic forever and ever…

monkey brain

AND FOR YOU PHARISAICAL FOODIE FUNDYS  WHO JUDGE ME ON BEING A STRICT CARNIVORE AND ADMONISH ME FOR WHAT I SHOULD AND SHOULD NOT EAT ALL I GOTTA SAY IS DON’T CALL UNCLEAN WHAT GOD’S CALLED CLEAN…HAMMOCK FROM HEAVEN PEEPLE!!!

Peters-vision

MMMM TASTY TASTY HAMMOCK CRITTERS…..

One of the scenes from Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (which had the dashingly handsome Sean Connery in it who will always and forever be the real James Bond)

sean conneryfeatured a scene where Indy had to choose the cup of Christ (Holy Grail from Medieval tales).  When he drinks from the cup he gains immortality supposedly seen here….

Now we all know that even if we did find and confirm the finding of a cup that Jesus drank out of, that drinking from it would not magically manifest blessing, healing or favor…well most of us know that…but this scene does point to an understanding of what Jesus provides us with as we receive the gift of his life…

This is the passage that came to mind…the story of the woman at the well in John 4:7-14…

“7 A woman from Samaria came to draw water. Jesus said to her, “Give me a drink.” (For his disciples had gone away into the city to buy food.) The Samaritan woman said to him, “How is it that you, a Jew, ask for a drink from me, a woman of Samaria?” (For Jews have no dealings with Samaritans.)10 Jesus answered her, “If you knew the gift of God, and who it is that is saying to you, ‘Give me a drink,’ you would have asked him, and he would have given you living water.” 11 The woman said to him, “Sir, you have nothing to draw water with, and the well is deep. Where do you get that living water? 12 Are you greater than our father Jacob? He gave us the well and drank from it himself, as did his sons and his livestock.” 13 Jesus said to her, “Everyone who drinks of this water will be thirsty again, 14 but whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never be thirsty again. The water that I will give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

Never thirst again…think about what Jesus is saying here…what does this mean in regards to His resurrection and our sanctification specifically?  I have been battling with understanding how sanctification works and resting more in Christ has been what has helped me.  I believe it will help you also.  Keep this in mind…the water that we drink is the water of Christ…an everlasting water…we consume Christ and Christ is in us, apart of us, giving us life…Christ in us…

     The New Testament connects the resurrection to sanctification in similar fashion to how it connects the resurrection to salvation, justification and glorification.  The verses that first come to mind are Romans 8:30 as well as Galatians 2:20.  One thing that I failed to observe for many years is that it was the entire life of Christ that was given to me as a gift of grace.  He did not only die the death that I deserved, but he lived the life that I needed to have lived and came back to life so that I might also.  My only hope is if I have been imputed with the righteousness of Christ and that he stands as my substitute.  The life that Christ lived was given to me as if I had lived his life.  I heard Elyse Fitzpatrick once say that Christ and his imputed life to us is “not only as if we had never sinned, but also as if we had always obeyed.”  Realizing this, that Christ not only wipes my slate clean but then adds to my slate the perfect fulfillment of the Law that is needed in order to be counted as righteous before a holy God is mind boggling.  To know that my account looks like the account of Christ, frees me to live a life wanting to live for Christ.  Knowing that I am free to fail, free to love, free to enjoy and rest in Christ propels my sanctification, which is not me working on loving and becoming more like Christ, but my life responding to the knowledge that Christ has already loved and covered me with his righteousness.

Reading an article by Tullian Tchidjian that referenced Martin Luther’s view on sanctification has helped me understand this far greater than I had originally hoped.  Martin Luther wrote about the distinction between passive righteousness and active righteousness.  This was to show the Christian how we live before God vertically and before our neighbor horizontally.  Luther stressed that our righteousness that we have received from Christ is the one that we present to God and it is a passive righteousness that is received and defined by faith.  On the other hand, our righteousness before each other is an active righteousness that is defined by service.  Tullian Tchividjian further explains that

the reason this distinction is so helpful is because one of the insinuations whenever the doctrine of sanctification is discussed is that my effort, my works, my pursuit of holiness, my faith, my response, my obedience, and my practice of godliness keep me in God’s good graces.  This, however, undermines the clear Biblical teaching that things between Christians and God are forever settled because of what Jesus has accomplished on the cross (Romans 8:1’ 31-39, Colossians 2:13-14).  When we imply that our works are for God and not our neighbor, we perpetuate the idea that God’s love for us is dependent on what we do instead of on what Christ has done.  We also fall prey to what John Piper calls, “the debtors ethic”-paying God back for all he’s done for us (Tchividjian, Liberate). 

Understanding that the entire point behind my sanctification is that it is empowered by Christ and his life helps present a more clear picture of what his resurrection means.  Because Christ lives, I now live.  Because his life has been given to me, I am now free to give my life to others.  I have been crucified with Christ.  It is no longer I who live,  but Christ who lives in me.  And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me (Galatians 2:20).  Knowing that His resurrection means my resurrection and that his righteousness has been given to me as my righteousness to wear, I don’t need anything from anyone else.  Therefore, I am free to serve my neighbor without any need in return from them which awesomely enough is what Christ has done for me, which also so happens to be the understanding behind sanctification…the process of being made holy.  I am passively holy because of the life, death, and resurrection of Christ.  I am actively holy because the joy that I have in being made passively holy, when it is honestly manifested, is a result of Christ loving me and covering me with His righteousness.  All of my actions are somehow tainted with my sinful desires and motivation. Which is why my only hope in my sanctification is in the perfect substitutionary life of Christ.  So often we worry that we are getting it all wrong and that our Heavenly Father is so mad at us for our mistakes and failures…But God is never mad at his adopted children in Christ.  He will never leave us or forsake us…being disappointed or mad at behavior is a result of unmet expectations…but because of Christ, all of what is expected from you has been provided by Christ….Your Father is not mad at you or grossed out by you…he is well pleased with you…because He is well pleased with Christ….

Indiana and dad

That is very good news….good news that has me wanting to close out the day and ride into the sunset, looking for new adventures in this life.  Knowing that Christ is with me…the real question is…now what do I “want” to do?

Published by

Zachary James Cole

Born in Atlanta, Georgia. Living in Atlanta, GA. Well kinda, in a city NE of Atlanta in Metro Atlanta called Sugar Hill, but everyone close to ITP just says they are from Atlanta. Marine Veteran. Simul Iustus et Peccator. The verse that could best sum my life...Galatians 2:20...I am blown away by the Grace of God. What Jesus did for me just leaves me in awe and in thanksgiving...It was all Him...and the peace that comes with that is liberating...now I am free to lose everything because I have everything in Christ.

Leave a Reply

